6 of 642: tell a story that begins with a ransom note.

The Window was Closed

“If u want ur bracelet put 3 oreos, 6 skittle (no green ones), half of ur toothfairy money and Brown Bear in ur purple baggy and leave it outside Jack’s door after bedtime. Be quiet and don’t let ANYONE know about this!!!!”

“JACK!” I yelled, after reading the note my toddler handed me. “Come downstairs, now!”

The five-year-old entered the dining room. “Yes, mommy?”

I handed him the yellow construction paper note. “Where’s Sara’s bracelet?”

“Uhh…I don’t know.”

“What are you holding?”

Jack stared at the note. “Construction paper with words on it.”

I sighed. Jack has always been such a good kid. He always eats his veggies, never stays up past his bedtime, and loves sharing his toys. Since I wasn’t going to get any information out of him, I went up to his room.

His room was quite tidy, considering his age. I looked around for some cut-up yellow paper and crayons, and his sister’s bracelet. On the floor, on his crafts table, under his bed, in his toy boxes. After searching every square inch of his room to no avail, I decided to take a look in my oldest son Leo’s room.

Leo was staying at his grandparents’ home for the week, since his day camp is in their town. I wanted to see if Jack has hidden his note-making supplies and Sara’s bracelet in his brother’s room to frame him.

Leo’s room looked like a tornado had swept through it, which was odd as I had him clean his room before he left for grandma and grandpa’s. I looked around. There was a clean area on his desk, on top of which was the bracelet, some yellow construction paper, a pair of scissors, and an opened pack of crayons. I took a step towards it and at that moment, a strong gust of wind swept through the room and slammed the door shut.

The window was closed.

Leave a Reply

